Join Our E-Mail List
HomeProgramsNews / EventsHistoryAboutEnterSupport


Doris Ferleger, Ph.D. is a clinical psychologist and poet whose poetry and memoir essays have been published in numerous literary journals including: Bridges, California Quarterly, Calyx, Comstock Review, Confluence, Many Mountains Moving, Northeast Corridor, Phoebe (Suny), South Carolina Review, South Dakota Review, 13th Moon, and in anthologies entitled: Motherpoet and Journey into Motherhood. She holds an MFA in Poetry from Vermont College and has attended well-regarded writers conferences including Bread Loaf and the Krakow Polish Poetry Seminar, founded by Polish poet Adam Zagajewski, which brought established and emerging American poets to Poland to discuss Polish poetry and the interface between poetry and history. Ferleger's ardent interest in poetry and history is reflected in her book entitled Big Silences in a Year of Rain. Of Ferleger's book, poet Bill Olsen writes:

Bonhoffer wrote of grace that "it is only when one loves life and the world so much that without them everything would be gone, that one can believe in...a new world." That new world, in all its astonishing difficulties and almost unlovable vastness, is, I think, the subject proper of Doris Ferleger's exceptional manuscript Big Silences in a Year of Rain. The poetry has a rough music, but it never slouches, it glides, and away from Bethlehem, away from pretty ideals; and it exists in and for this world, always. These poems about Jewishness lost and found and about parentage from both ends of experience are lived inside with an intensity that is extremely rare, and with such joy in the medium, resoundingly celebratory of the invisible yet somehow palpable powers of poetry.


Proof Of Citizenship

Flooding and Floating

Last Letter


Big Silences in a Year of Rain


The Writing Circle - Writing From Within


Doris Ferleger wins 2010 Robert Fraser Award

<< 2010 Poet Laureate
  2018 - Megan Gillespie
  2017 - Chad Frame
  2016 - Autumn Konopka
  2015 - David Escobar-Martin
  2014 - Kristina Moriconi
  2013 - Glenn McLaughlin
  2012 - Liz Chang
  2011 - Amy Small-McKinney
PoetryWITS (Writers in the Schools)
Poetry Noir
Online Poetry Professor
Contact UsPoet Laureate BlogLinksShop
Contact Joanne Levawebsite by A2P Web Design

follow us on Twitter find us on Facebook