Join Our E-Mail List
HomeProgramsNews / EventsHistoryAboutEnterSupport


Tony Hoagland is the author of three volumes of poetry: Sweet Ruin, winner of the Brittingham Prize in Poetry, Donkey Gospel, winner of the James Laughlin Award of The Academy of American Poets, and What Narcissism Means to Me, as well as a collection of essay's about poetry, Real Sofistakashun all by Graywolf Press. His poems and critical essays have appeared widely in journals and anthologies such as American Poetry Review, Harvard Review, and Ploughshares. Hoagland currently teaches in the poetry program at the University of Houston. He is the winner of the 2005 O.B. Hardison Jr. Prize. Awarded by the Folger Shakespeare Library, this is the only national prize to recognize a poet's teaching as well as his art. Hoagland also received the 2005 Mark Twain Award, given by the Poetry Foundation in recognition of a poets contribution to humor in American poetry.

Tony Hoagland's poems have been described as moving unerringly with wit and irony, like an arrow through its target—we, the readers—with exhilarating results. His poems sprint across the page and unexpectedly blow apart a single moment, exposing its contradictory nature—and often our folly. Hoagland explores the spiritual bereftness of American satisfaction, creating poetry that is scathing, funny, rich, and refreshingly intelligent. Steven Cramer writes of Hoagland's poems, "[they] grapple with selfhood and manhood, but they also consider the mysteries of the national identity—how the social and the personal mutually impinge."


The Story of the Father        (play audio)

<< 2010 Celebrity Judge
  2019 - Dilruba Ahmed
  2018 - John Timpane
  2017 - Tim Seibles
  2016 - Carl Dennis
  2015 - Major Jackson
  2014 - J.C. Todd
  2013 - Ethel Rackin
  2011 - Christopher Bursk
PoetryWITS (Writers in the Schools)
Poetry Noir
Featured Teacher
Online Poetry Professor
Contact UsPoet Laureate BlogLinksShop
Contact Joanne Levawebsite by A2P Web Design

follow us on Twitter find us on Facebook